October Autotest & PCA

15 Oct 2017

Following the success of the August event at Ty Mawr, Dyffryn Nantlle, Jamie Jones invited competitors to participate in another Autotest and PCA at the same venue.

  • 22308893 10156681329012067 4709704279338417226 N
  • 22406202 10156681330537067 3304513306715232173 N
  • 22406280 10156681330272067 181692838823503778 N
  • 22448433 10156681425707067 7559616235827619204 N
  • 22448620 10156681332542067 5375131792586687607 N
  • 22489793 10156681329362067 2749983212058384154 N
  • 22490155 10156681334527067 7744586152784417713 N
  • 22519283 10156681334177067 8589525485699291903 N
  • 22528208 10156681331917067 2022793746158711479 N
  • 22549583 10156681333082067 1024627213481804513 N


Many thanks to Graham Humphreys for the photos in the Slideshow (above) and Gallery (see below).

The event saw four entries in the Autotest and twenty three in the PCA. A total of twenty tests over seven different sites made for a full day's motorsport, which by all accounts was thoroughly enjoyed by all.
Dave 'Stavros' Jones in his Micra took an early lead in the Autotest, very closely followed by Carey Lindley in the Fiesta with both trading fastest times (with the exception of one each for Iwan Jones and Will Hughes) and only four seconds separated the two at the halfway point after nine tests. After twelve tests the positions were reversed with Carey leading by four seconds, but by Test 15 they were on equal penalties. The next three tests saw Stavros gain a six second advantage, and he managed to maintain that gap to the finish.

The PCA entries were divided into four classes and included four Junior drivers. The Ford Ka of Robert Owen/Alan Owen took an early lead of four seconds from Richie Hughes/Jonathan Williams in a Puma after three tests, with the Ka of Phillip Roberts/ Dylan Jones another second behind in third. Only a further five seconds separated the next seven crews.
Test site B saw a series of maximums for almost half the field and by the halfway point after Test 9, Roberts/Jones had the lead by three seconds from Owen/Owen with the Mazda MX5 of Nick Clitheroe/Jill Adamson a further seven seconds adrift in third, holding off fourth placed Hughes/Williams by three seconds. Although the two crews sharing fifth place at this point were seven seconds behind fourth, only nine seconds separated them from the three crews sharing eleventh place, two of which were Junior drivers Ben Jones with passenger Guto Roberts in the Fiesta 1600 and Dafydd Jones with Caian Williams in their Nissan Micra.
The afternoon session saw the top two setting consistently good times and by the completion of Test 15, Robert Owen had taken the lead by one second from Phillip Roberts but Nick Clitheroe was losing time to Richie Hughes and Jonathan Williams who eventually finished third and fourth respectively. After Test 18, Roberts had regained the lead and, although Owen was slightly faster on the last runs, he could not make up the difference - eventually finishing just one second behind!!

Award winners and full results below.

Autotest Award Winners:
Fastest Time of the Day - Car 3. Dave Jones (C&AMC), Micra 1000, 646 seconds.
First in Class - Car 19. Carey Lindley (C&AMC), Fiesta 1600, 652 seconds.

PCA Award Winners:
Fastest Time of the Day - Car 16. Phillip Roberts/Dylan Jones (C&AMC), Ford Ka, 661 seconds
First Class A - Car 17. Richie Hughes/Jonathan Williams (C&AMC), Puma 1600, 677 seconds.
First Class B - Car 20. Nick Clitheroe/Jill Adamson (116 Car Club; C&AMC), Mazda MX5, 708 seconds.
First Class C - Car 21. Robert Owen/Alan Owen (C&AMC), Ford Ka, 662 seconds.
First Class D - Car 14. Jeff Buchanan/D.Davies (North Wales Car Club), Mazda MX5, 864 seconds.
First Junior - Car 13. Dafydd Jones/Caian Williams (C&AMC), Nissan Micra, 734 seconds.
Best Lady - Car 8. Mari Haf Evans/Berwyn Evans (CA&AMC), Micra 1000, 896 seconds.

View Gallery


Results of the Autotest and PCA held at Ty Mawr:
October 2017 Autotest Results
October PCA Results

Regulations and Entry Form

Supplementary Regulations and Entry Form available here:
October Autotest Regulations
October Autotest Entry Form

Entries Secretary

Tecwyn Jones
07879 493468  jones6t@gllm.ac.uk

Clerk of the Course

Jamie Jones
07801 294742 jamiebodffordd@hotmail.com

  • Motorsports UK
  • Association of North Western Car Clubs
  • Welsh Association of Motor Clubs
  • Pentraeth Group