J.J.Brown Memorial Rally

9 Dec 2017 – 10 Dec 2017

This Road Rally has a long and distinguished history and we are pleased to announce that O.G.Owen & Son Ltd, Caernarfon, are supporting the event, just as they did in 1987 when the event was a round of the Motoring News Championship. Previously based in Palace Street, the business is now located at 2, Bangor Street.

Visit our supporter's website - O.G.Owen & Son Ltd.

  • 17Jjb30
  • 17Jjb01
  • 17Jjb42


After weeks of planning the route and time schedule, preparing the paperwork and ironing out a few PR issues, the main consideration in the days before the event was the weather! The forecast for the weekend of the rally was not good, with a prediction for heavy falls of snow over north Wales and on Friday there were concerns for some parts of the route on higher ground. By Saturday morning there was some improvement, but plans were put in place to cancel sections and issue re-route instructions to the crews should the need arise.

By the time the first of 54 starters left Plas Menai at 00.01 hours things were still looking fairly good but could change during the night and drivers were reminded at the briefing that it could be slippery in places.
First car away was the Mark 2 Escort of Carwyn Evans and Dylan Williams, followed at No. 3 by eventual winners Gavin Edwards/Daniel Jones and Steven Williams/Huw Manion at 4, both also in Mark 2s. Indeed, nine of the first eleven cars away were Mark 2 Escorts.
First of the semi-experts at number 21 were Steffan Llewelyn/Gethin Povey in a Corsa, followed by Dan Williams/Rhian Sanson (Escort Mk2) and Gruffydd Jones/Bryn Jones (Nova). First novices away at 37 were Mark Williams/Robin Evans (Honda Civic), followed by Patrick Brennan/Gavin Thompson (Toyota Celica) and Tomos Parry/Michael Roberts (Peugeot 106 GTi).

The first competitive section from Llanddeiniolen to Brynrefail had to be cancelled after an incident caused a significant delay to some of the novice crews. Section two was over Clegir from Llanberis, quickly followed by a third section south of Llanrug to Ceunant. Section four took crews from Waunfawr over to Rhosgadfan, followed by section five to the north of Groeslon.
Then came the longest section of the rally, almost twenty miles from Nebo and over the A487, south and west via Mynachdy Gwyn, then east via Llecheiddior and south-west to end near Llanarmon. Fuel was available at Glan-y-Don, Pwllheli, with a Time Recovery stop at Y Ffôr.
At this point the lead was held by Gavin Edwards/Daniel Jones on 1 minute 21 seconds penalties, nine seconds ahead of Steven Williams/Huw Manion with the Escort of Elgan Williams/Ianto Jones (Car 6) a further 36 seconds back. Leading the semi experts were Gwynfor Jones/Chris Evans in their Ford Escort Mk2 (Car 24) on 2m 55s and ahead in the novice class was Car 39, the Peugeot 106 of Tomos Parry/ Michael Roberts on 4m 46s.
Three more competitive sections took competitors back north towards Llanaelhaearn; then from Clynnog Fawr to Pontllyfni and the infamous Pont-y- Cim, before the final leg – a kind of sting-in-the-tail nine miler - from near Llandwrog, taking in Saron and Foryd to Caernarfon, before crews could relax and go on to the finish and breakfast back at Plas Menai.

There were 31 classified finishers when results were declared final. The early leaders had maintained their position, losing only another four seconds and extending the gap to 51 seconds. Geraint Williams/Aron Jones had moved up to third, having been in sixth position at the petrol halt.
Congratulations to all the award winners and to Clerk of the Course, Peredur Davies, and his team for running a successful event and a huge thanks to all the marshals, some of whom endured quite challenging conditions on a very cold wintery night. DE.

Award Winners:
1st Overall: Car 3 - Gavin Edwards / Daniel Jones; Ford Escort Mk2; 1.minute 25.seconds.
1st Experts: Car 4 - Steven John Williams / Huw Rhys Manion; Ford Escort Mk2; 2m 16s.
2nd Experts: Car 12 - Geraint Williams / Aron Jones; Ford Escort Mk2; 3m 4s.
3rd Experts: Car 6 - Elgan Price Williams / Ianto Fôn Jones; Ford Escort Mk2; 3m 22s.
1st Semis: Car 24 - Gwynfor Jones / Chris Evans; Ford Escort Mk2; 4m 12s.
2nd Semis: Car 23 - Gruffydd Jones / Bryn Jones; Vauxhall Nova 4m 52s.
3rd Semis: Car 27 - Siôn Eifion Morris / Harriet Helen Froom; Renault Clio 172 5m 24s.
1st Novices: Car 40 - Rhys Jones / Gwenan Hâf Jones; Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 1s.
2nd Novices: Car 39 - Tomos Parry / Michael Roberts; Peugeot 106 GTi 14m 32s.
3rd Novices: Car 56 - Siôned Alys Gayther / Eleri Jones; Peugeot 206 25m 42s.
Best presented car: Car 23 - Gruffydd Jones / Bryn Jones; Vauxhall Nova.

Full detailed results available below.

Thanks to Duncan Littler for the action photos in the Gallery.

View Gallery


Full list off Results and Award Winners

Entry List

We have 58 entries for the 2017 J.J.Brown Memorial Rally in association with O.G.Owen & Son Ltd. The list of entries and Final Instructions are available here:
2017 J.J.Brown Rally Entry List
2017 J.J.Brown Rally Final Instructions

Basic Information

Supplementary Regulations and online entries are now available.
J.J. Brown Regulations 2017
J.J.Brown Online Entry Form

Unseeded List Of Entries.
An unseeded list of entries may be seen by clicking on the link above. This list does not show all entries received to date as it only includes those that have paid the entry fee.

The event will start and finish at Plas Menai Outdoor Centre and offers approximately 90 challenging miles on O.S. maps 115 (Snowdonia) and 123 (Lleyn Peninsula) for a fee of £90, which includes two breakfasts.
As this is a Clubman status event, both driver and navigator must be members of C&A Motor Club. Membership application forms can be downloaded from here: Become A Member.
Members of the organising team may be contacted by email at jjbrownrally@gmail.com.


If you plan to take advantage of the Jelf rally insurance scheme in order to comply with the requirements of the Road Traffic Act, you need to meet the conditions set out in Section 18 of the Supplementary Regulations.
If, for whatever reason, you are unable to comply with the requirements, you will need to apply for a Letter of Acceptance by completing this Driver Declaration Form and sending it to info@jelfmotorsport.com.

Are You Under 18?

Anyone under 18 years old attending the event as a driver, navigator or marshal must have have the signed consent of a parent, guardian or carer.
If the legal parent, guardian or carer of anyone under 18 taking part in the event is unable to attend Signing-on and is represented by someone else, then they should complete and present the MSA Competition Parental Consent Authorisation form, available here:
Parental Consent Authorisation


As with all road rallies, having a sufficient number of marshals will make a vital contribution to the success of the J.J.Brown Memorial Rally. Each competitor will be required to provide a marshal, but we are also looking for volunteers from other enthusiasts as well. No previous experience is necessary.

To book a place, contact the Chief Marshal, Laura Jones on 07760 994575.
No calls to any rally officials after 9 pm please.

Clerk of the Course

Peredur Davies
07748 081300 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Deputy Clerk Of the Course

Alun Barnes
07867 487971 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Entries Secretary

Ifor Davies
07772 297043 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Chief Marshal

Laura Jones
07760 994575 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Public Relations Officer

Meirion Gadd
07399 184772 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Secretary of the Meeting

Dafydd Edwards
01248 714165 camcsport@gmail.com

  • Motorsports UK
  • Association of North Western Car Clubs
  • Welsh Association of Motor Clubs
  • Pentraeth Group