Ty Mawr August Autotest & PCA (Clubman Status)

20 Aug 2017

We were fortunate enough to have a new venue for our Autotest in August. This was at Ty Mawr Quarry, Dyffryn Nantlle, which is off the B4418 Penygroes to Rhyd Ddu road.

  • Da1Xx
  • Da2Xx
  • Da3Xx
  • Da4Xx
  • Da5Xx


Many thanks to Islwyn Jones for the photos in the slideshow. More of Islwyn's photos and some by Duncan Littler to be seen in the Gallery (link below). And ..... a big thanks to Lee Matthews for this report.

When the offer of a new quarry venue came up to hold an Autotest, Jamie Jones and C&A team jumped at the opportunity and arranged one in less than two months.
Thirty four drivers ascended into the Nantlle Valley above Penygroes to the Ty Mawr Quarry on a sunny Sunday morning. There were three sites set up, where the crews were told to split up into 3 equal groups, attempting a test 3 times before moving onto another. This helped the many newcomers, including several lady drivers to remember just one test at a time.
By halfway Paul Morris had edged out a four second lead in his Mk5 Fiesta, and would extend his advantage in the afternoon’s rain to take a decisive maiden win.
Jamie Jones did a great job as main organiser and had his hands full levelling out the ruts that developed in one location on site B. It is always a difficult task to run an event at a new venue and whilst this event ran smoothly, he promises the next one will be even better now we know where the soft sections are, so they can be avoided.

We should give a special thanks to the marshals who got soaked in the second half of the day - Paul Cross, Ieuan, Tex, Alison, Rob Jos and Geraint….Thank you.
The smiles from the occupants of the cars were testimony to a fun day’s motorsport. Well done all.

Award Winners
Fastest Time of the Day - Tom Parkes, Corsa 1400.
First in Class - Will Hughes, Fiesta ZS 1600.

Production Car Autotest:
Fastest Time of the Day - Paul Morris, Fiesta 1600.
1st Class A - Nigal Jones, Lexus IS 200.
1st Class B - Tomos Parry, Fiesta 1250.
1st Class C - Carey Lindley, Fiesta ZS 1600.
1st Class D - Steve Faben, Corsa 1800.
Best Junior - Ben Jones, Ford Ka 1600.
Best Lady - Alwen Williams, BMW Compact 1800.

View Gallery


See below for a report on the event and a link to the gallery of photos.
Results for the Autotest and the PCA are available here:
2017 Ty Mawr PCA Results
2017 Ty Mawr Autotest Results


The event is being organised by Jamie Jones (our Competition Secretary) and Tecwyn (Tecs) Jones. Regulations and entry forms are now available.
Ty Mawr Autotest Regulations
Ty Mawr Autotest Entry Form

Entries Secretary

Tecwyn Jones
07879 493468 jones6t@gllm.ac.uk

Clerk of the Course

Jamie Jones

  • Motorsports UK
  • Association of North Western Car Clubs
  • Welsh Association of Motor Clubs
  • Pentraeth Group
  • Barnes Auto Engineering
  • Caernarfon Signs