2019 Kennings Autotest

1 Sep 2019

This will be a multi permit event consisting of a National B Autotest, Clubman Autotest and PCA, qualifying for the BTRDA, ANWCC, WAMC, Glynne Edwards and C&AMC Club championships.

  • Ken19 13 2
  • Ken19 18
  • Ken19 12
  • Ken19 15
  • Ken19 14
  • Ken19 11
  • Ken19 16
  • Ken19 17
  • Ken19 19


In the days leading up to this year’s Kennings Autotest I was following the weather forecast with a little trepidation. The outlook hinted at a chance of rain on the day, which would have been a bit of a downer after the glorious conditions of the previous year’s event. The championship competitors had thoroughly enjoyed the 2018 event at Trac Môn so, with the approval of the BTRDA, the date had been changed from early August so that we could use the same venue this year.
The threat of rain diminished to present a day of sunny periods with a coolish breeze and a slightly disappointing entry of thirteen drivers signed-on for the National B event. Despite the small numbers the quality was high with competitors from as far as Scotland and Kent making the journey to Anglesey. Numbers for the Clubman Autotest and PCA were even more disappointing with only two and four entries respectively.

Clerk of the Course Jamie Jones had set out three test sites, with drivers permitted three runs on each in any order during the morning session. From the beginning, Dave Evans (Blitz Special) and last year’s winner, Malcolm Livingston (Lindsay Special) were trading fastest times on each test throughout the session. Livingston was unfortunate to touch a cone on his third run on Test C, which meant that the gap at the lunch break was opened to 7.6 seconds.
In third place a further 22 seconds adrift, but leading Class C, was Stephen Morten (RAW Striker), with a gap of 2.8 seconds to the Class A Mini of Charlie Lower in fourth. Despite a 20-second penalty for a Wrong Test (WT) on Test B, Willie Keaning (Sylva Striker) was fifth overall and second in Class C.
In the Clubman Autotest, both competitors had retired with mechanical problems less than half way through the morning; whilst in the PCA, Deio Hughes/Catrin Enlli (Fiesta) held a comfortable lead despite a couple of WTs. The other PCA competitors were having their own problems with getting the route right, compounded in a couple of cases with a lack of a properly functioning handbrake for the turns.

After lunch, competitors had two more runs on each of the three tests and the top two continued their battle with Dave Evans just managing to maintain his lead to end up winning by 5.7 seconds. In Class C, Morten was unfortunate to collect a costly WT on Test C which relegated him from third to fifth overall and second in class. Charlie Lower was consistently fast throughout the day and finished third, whilst Keaning overcame his earlier WT with some very clean and fast driving to finish fourth and win Class C by 2.3 seconds.
In the PCA, Deio Hughes increased his lead overall, although Ben Jones and Will Hughes put up some creditable times to finish second and third respectively.
The results were produced very quickly, and the awards presented by Mike Sones of the BTRDA Autotest Championship who had come along to observe the event. Mike had brought along an award won by Elis Matthews in the 2018 Autotest Championship, but with Elis not able to be attend, it was presented to father Lee to pass on.

Everyone appeared to thoroughly enjoy the day’s sport and thanks go to Clerk of the Course Jamie Jones; Event Secretary Tecwyn Jones; Chief Marshal Stuart Austin; Scrutineer Ronnie Roberts; Steward Ifor Davies; Results Manager Gavin Rees; and all the timekeepers and marshals.
Dafydd Edwards.


Fastest Time of the Day - Dave Evans (Blitz Special.
1stClass B – Toby Cook (Nissan Micra}; 9th overall.
1stClass C – Willie Keaning (Sylva Striker); 4th overall.
2ndClass C – Stephen Morten (RAW Striker); 5th overall
1stClass D – Malcolm Livinston (Lindsay Special); 2nd overall.
Novice award & 1st Class A – Charlie Lower (Mini); 3rd overall.
C&AMC award – Lee Matthews (Vauxhall Corsa); 12th overall.

Overall winners - Deio Hughes/Catrin Enllli (Ford Fiesta).

Follow the links below for full result details and photos of the competitors and the awrds presentation..

Results for the Nation B Autotest available here: 2019 Kennings Nat B Autotest Results
Results for the Clubman status Autotest and PCA available here: 2019 Kennings Clubman Autotest & PCA Results

View Gallery

Latest Information

Final Instructions and test diagrams available here: 2019 Kennings Final Instructions
List of entries for the National B event: 2019 Kennings Entry List


Following the success of the 2018 event at Anglesey Circuit, we are pleased to have secured the same venue for this year. However, we have had to move from the proposed August date to 1st September. Photos in the slideshow were taken at last year's event. Scroll down for the event regulations and entry forms.

The National B Autotest is a qualifying round of the following championships:
2019 demon tweeks BTRDA Autotest Championship;
BTRDA Allrounders 2019 Championship;
ANWCC Autotest Championship;
ANWCC All-rounders Championship;
Welsh Autotest Championship;
Glynne Edwards Memorial Championship 2019;
Relevant C&A Motor Club club championships.

The Clubman Autotest is a qualifying round of the following championships:
ANWCC Autotest Championship;
ANWCC All-rounders Championship;
Welsh Autotest Championship;
Glynne Edwards Memorial Championship 2019;
Relevant C&A Motor Club club championships.

The PCA is a qualifier for the following:
2019 ANWCC Production Car Autotest Championship;
Glynne Edwards Memorial Championship 2019;
Relevant C&A Motor Club club championships.

Documents and Forms

Regulations and entry forms are now available below. Please select the appropriate status event - National B or Clubman.

2019 Kennings National B Autotest SRs
2019 Kennings National B entry form
2019 Kennings Clubman Autotest PCA SRs
2019 Kennings Clubman entry form

You may require one or more of the following in order to compete on the event. Please read the Supplementary Regulations in order to establish what you need.
C&A Motor Club membership application form - Become A Member
Motorsport UK Competition Licence application form - 2019 Competition Licence Application Form.
If you have a competition licence that has expired, you may renew it online here: Licence renewal.

A competitor or official under 18 years old whose parent, guardian or carer is unable to attend at signing-on, will need a person authorised to sign on behalf of the parent, guardian or carer and produce this completed consent form - 2019 Parental Consent Authorisation.

Clerk of the Course

Jamie Jones

Entries Secretary

Tecwyn Jones
07879 493468 tecwyn.jones@gllm.ac.uk

  • Motorsports UK
  • Association of North Western Car Clubs
  • Welsh Association of Motor Clubs
  • Pentraeth Group
  • Barnes Auto Engineering
  • Caernarfon Signs