2018 Stuff The Turkey Autotest & PCA

30 Dec 2018

The ever popular event held at Trac Môn between Christmas and New Year.

  • 18Stt23
  • 18Stt05
  • 18Stt42
  • 18Stt21
  • 18Stt06


The Stuff The Turkey event has traditionally been held in the week between Christmas and New Year and has always proved popular as a means of recovery after the festivities. This year was no exception, with 53 crews plus several marshals and officials electing for a day’s motorsport rather than spend more time with the TV and mince pies. Once again, the entry in the Autotest was disappointing with only three drivers going for this option, but the fifty teams entered in the PCA ensured that there would be a full day of healthy competition.

Jamie Jones, Clerk of the Course, had set out six test sites and drivers would attempt each test three times with the two best times to count. There were some exciting battles in both events and within classes, with some of the margins being very small indeed.
In the Autotest the win went to Kevin Easterbrook by just nine seconds after trading fastest times with Tom Parkes on most of the tests.
The PCA saw Neil Jones of Bala & District MC post the most fastest times but Carey Lindley and Will Hughes also set a few, with one or two by Howard Morris, Lee Thomas, Ben Jones, Richie Hughes and Paul Morris. Paul and son Callum had been doubtful starters and mechanical problems led to an eventual retirement, along with ten other drivers.
Neil was a comfortable winner at the end of the day with Carey runner-up, just ten seconds ahead of Howard who was only three seconds ahead of Lee. Will Hughes finished fifth with best junior driver Dafydd Jones only four seconds behind and just three seconds ahead of another junior, Ben Jones.

Thanks to Jamie Jones and his team and marshals for ensuring that the event was held and to Islwyn Jones for permission to reproduce his photographs.

Autotest Results.
1st - Kevin Easterbrook (CAMC); Mazda MX5 – 1036 seconds.
2nd – Tom Parkes (CAMC); Formula 27 – 1045s.
3rd – Jeff Buchanan (NWCC); Mazda MX5 – 1123s.

PCA Top Ten.
1st - Neil Jones (BDMC)/Darren Jones (CAMC); Mazda MX5, Class D – 883 seconds.
2nd - Carey Lindley (CAMC) / Harvey Lindley (CAMC); Ford Fiesta, Class C – 918s.
3rd - Howard Morris (RDMC) / Carol Morris (RDMC); Mazda MX5, Class D – 928s.
4th - Lee Thomas (CAMC) / Chris Berry (CAMC); Mazda MX5, Class D – 931s.
5th - Will Hughes (CAMC) / Endaf Jones (CAMC); Ford Fiest, Class C - 945s.
6th - Dafydd Jones* (CAMC) / Sam Edwards (CAMC); Nissan Micra, Class C – 949s.
7th - Ben Jones* (CAMC) / Guto Roberts (CAMC); Ford Fiesta, Class C – 952s.
8th - Richie Hughes (CAMC) / Jonny Williams (CAMC); Ford Puma, Class A – 970s.
9th - Phillip Roberts (CAMC) / Tom Thomas (CAMC); Ford KA, Class A – 975s.
10th - Deio Hughes (CAMC) / Dafydd Hughes (CAMC); Ford Fiesta, Class C – 991s.

* Indicates Junior driver under 18 years old.
BDMC = Bala & District Motor Club.
CAMC = Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club.
NWCC = North Wales Car Club.
RDMC = Rhyl & District Motor Club

Autotest results here: Stuff The Turkey 2018 Autotest Results
PCA results here: Stuff The Turkey 2018 PCA Results

View Gallery


Held at Trac Môn/Anglesey Circuit and usually attracts a good entry. To be sure of a place, please complete and send in your entry forms as soon as possible.

Supplementary Regulations for the Autotest and the PCA - 2018 Stuff The Turkey SRs

Official entry form - 2018 Stuff The Turkey Entry Form

  • Motorsports UK
  • Association of North Western Car Clubs
  • Welsh Association of Motor Clubs
  • Pentraeth Group
  • Barnes Auto Engineering
  • Caernarfon Signs