J J Brown Memorial Rally

8 Dec 2018

A Road Rally with a long history; always a challenge for drivers and navigators alike.

  • 18Jjbr1
  • 18Jjbr2
  • 18Jjbr3
  • 18Jjbr4
  • 18Jjbr5
  • 18Jjbr6


Award Winners -
Overall winners: Car No. 3 – Guto Ifan / Alan James (Ford Escort Mk1); 4 minutes 28 seconds.
First Experts:
Car 4 – Deion Atkinson / Aron Jones (BMW 318 Ti); 5m 25s [2nd overall].
Second Experts:
Car 12 – Gwynfor Jones / Chris Evans (Ford Escort); 5m 51s [3rd o/a].
Third Experts:
Car 11 – Sion Hardy / Adam Jones (VW Golf Mk2);7m 56s [4th o/a].
First Semi-experts:
Car 20 – David Pedley / Grace Pedley (Mazda MX5); 12m 37s [8th o/a].
Second Semi-experts:
Car 21 – Iwan Roberts /Michael Jones (Toyota Corolla); 25m 16s [11th o/a].
Third Semi-experts: Car 18 – Daniel Williams / Rhian Sanson (Ford Escort); 1 Fail 5m 31s [13th o/a].
First Novices:
Car 31 – John Cardwell / Chris Tindall (Seat Ibiza); 9m 2s [5th o/a].
Second Novices:
Car 32 – Owain Baum-Jones / Eleri Jones (Suzuki Ignis Sport); 12m 35s [7th o/a].
Third Novices:
Car 37 – Osian Owen / Iwan James Williams (Peugeot 205); 14m 14s [9th o/a].
Best Presented Car: Car 47 - John Barry Williams / Jason Hunt (Peugeot 205 GTi).

Congratulations to all the award winners.
There were 32 finishers from 45 starters. Detailed results below.

List of starters: 2018 JJBrown Starters
Details of penalties: 2018 JJBrown Penalties
Finishers in car number order: 2018 JJBrown by car number
Finishers in position order: 2018 JJBrown in position order

Entries and Documents

Seeded Entry List now available here - 2018 JJBrown Entry List
Final Instructions to competitors - 2018 JJBrown Final Instructions

Event Supplementary Regulations: JJBrown Regulations 2018

Event online entry form: JJBrown Entry Form
Membership application form can be found here: Become A Member
Jelf Driver Declaration form to apply for a Letter of Acceptance: Road Section Driver Declaration Form 2018
MSA Competition Parental Consent Authorisation: Parental Consent Authorisation


The 2018 J.J. Brown Memorial Road Rally is promoted with very welcome continued support from O.G Owen & Son Ltd. of Bangor Street, Caernarfon.
Once again, building on the previous years, the organisers have strived to provide a balanced event, providing a suitable challenge for the more experienced crews whilst keeping a simple, “no-nonsense” format to encourage novices to participate.
This year’s JJ Brown Memorial Road Rally will be held in Snowdonia & Eifionydd using O.S. Map 115 (Snowdon). The route is approximately 90 miles with 99% on metalled roads.
The event is open to a maximum of sixty cars and every crew must supply a marshalling crew, who must be signed on before their competing crew. Named rally officials may not be nominated as marshals.
Experienced drivers and navigators will be on hand should any competitors require assistance with route plotting, and so on.
All competitors are encouraged to read the Supplementary Regulations (see above), which will have the answers to almost all your pre-event questions.

As this is a Clubman status event, both driver and navigator must be members of C&A Motor Club. If you are not already a member, a link to membership application forms can be found above.


If you plan to take advantage of the Jelf rally insurance scheme in order to comply with the requirements of the Road Traffic Act, you need to meet the conditions set out in Section 18 of the Supplementary Regulations.
If, for whatever reason, you are unable to comply with the requirements, you will need to apply for a Letter of Acceptance by completing this Road Section Driver Declaration Form and sending it to info@jelfmotorsport.com.

Are you under 18?

Anyone under 18 years old attending the event as a driver, navigator or marshal must have have the signed consent of a parent, guardian or carer.
If the legal parent, guardian or carer of anyone under 18 taking part in the event is unable to attend Signing-on and is represented by someone else, then they should complete and present the MSA Competition Parental Consent Authorisation form, available here: Parental Consent Authorisation

Clerk of the Course

Peredur Davies
07748 081300 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Entries Secretary

Ifor Davies
07772 297043 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

Chief Marshal

Laura Jôs
07760 994575 jjbrownrally@gmail.com

  • Motorsports UK
  • Association of North Western Car Clubs
  • Welsh Association of Motor Clubs
  • Pentraeth Group